Compare military benefits.

Choose two or three banks or credit unions to compare benefits, account conditions, and contact guidance.

Choose two or three different banks or credit unions to compare

Choose banks or credit unions

Comparing Capital One / Discover, Bank of America

Federal law: Interest on qualifying debt opened before service may be capped at 6%, regardless of the bank or credit union.

Comparison of federal SCRA protections and additional benefits from Capital One / Discover, Bank of America
ComparisonFDIC-insured bankCapital One / DiscoverCapital One, National AssociationFDIC-insured bankBank of AmericaBank of America, National Association
From the providerLower rate
4% on eligible Capital One or Discover cards, personal loans, and auto loans

Capital One must own and service the eligible loan. The 4% claim is limited here to the cards, personal loans, and auto loans named by Capital One.

Who it may cover: The loan must qualify for Capital One's program. Capital One must own the loan and manage the account. Ask whether your account type is covered.

Accounts and conditions
Credit Card

Bank conditions apply

Eligible Capital One or Discover account that Capital One owns and manages

Program and military-service timing rules apply.

Named by the bank.

Personal Loan

Bank conditions apply

Eligible loan that Capital One owns and manages

Program and military-service timing rules apply.

Named by the bank.

Auto Loan

Bank conditions apply

Eligible loan that Capital One owns and manages

Program and military-service timing rules apply.

Named by the bank.

4% cap on eligible Bank of America home loans

The home loan must be owned and managed by Bank of America. Investor-owned loans may still get the federal 6% cap, but not necessarily 4%.

Who it may cover: Home loan must be both owned and managed by Bank of America and customer must qualify for military benefits.

Accounts and conditions
Mortgage

Bank conditions apply

Both owned and managed by Bank of America

Military-benefit and timing requirements apply.

Investor-owned loans may still qualify for the federal 6% cap but not necessarily the 4% program.

From the providerHow long it may last
Approved benefits last one year after active duty

Approved accounts only. Benefits date back to qualifying service and last until one year after active duty; requests after that year are generally declined.

Who it may cover: Only approved eligible accounts; the bank says requests are generally declined if active duty ended more than one year before the request.

Accounts and conditions
Unknown

Bank conditions apply

Approved eligible Capital One or Discover account

Retroactive to qualifying service start or qualifying-orders date; remains until one year after active duty ends.

Account-type timing may vary.

Card and installment benefits may continue six months after service

Eligible cards and installment loans. The six-month extension generally covers both; continued reduced interest is stated only for cards.

Who it may cover: Bank of America says this generally applies. Eligibility depends on the product and account.

Accounts and conditions
Credit Card

Bank conditions apply

Eligible Bank of America account

Generally six months after active duty ends.

Continued reduced interest is expressly described.

Personal Loan

Bank conditions apply

Eligible Bank of America installment loan

Generally six months after active duty ends.

From the providerOther benefits
See 1 more program
No account fees except certain insurance charges

Eligible SCRA Program accounts only; certain insurance charges still apply.

Who it may cover: The account must qualify for Capital One's SCRA Program. Certain insurance charges are not waived.

Accounts and conditions
Unknown

Bank conditions apply

Eligible Capital One SCRA Program account

Program and military-service timing rules apply.

Apply only after account-specific eligibility is confirmed.

See 6 more programs
Select credit-card fees waived for life

Eligible customers and select card fees only; Bank of America does not publish the full fee list.

Who it may cover: Only certain fees and eligible customers qualify. The bank does not list every covered fee.

After military service; the bank says for life.

Accounts and conditions
Credit Card

Bank conditions apply

Eligible Bank of America credit card

After military service; the bank says for life.

Select fees only.

Debit-card replacement fees may be waived

Eligible deposit account; ask Bank of America to confirm your account.

Who it may cover: The bank says eligibility may vary by account. Ask the bank to confirm your account.

Accounts and conditions
Checking, savings, or other deposit accounts

Bank conditions apply

Eligible Bank of America deposit account

ATM fees may be waived on eligible deposit accounts

Eligible deposit account; third-party ATM-owner fees are not stated as covered.

Who it may cover: The bank says eligibility may vary. It does not say fees charged by other ATM owners are reimbursed.

Accounts and conditions
Checking, savings, or other deposit accounts

Bank conditions apply

Eligible Bank of America deposit account

The bank does not say whether fees charged by other ATM owners are covered.

Monthly checking and savings fees may be waived

Eligible checking or savings account; ask Bank of America to confirm your account.

Who it may cover: The bank says eligibility may vary by account. Ask the bank to confirm your account.

Accounts and conditions
Checking, savings, or other deposit accounts

Bank conditions apply

Eligible Bank of America checking or savings account

Wire fees may be waived on eligible deposit accounts

Eligible deposit account and wire; ask Bank of America to confirm both.

Who it may cover: The bank says eligibility may vary by account and transaction. Ask the bank to confirm both.

Accounts and conditions
Checking, savings, or other deposit accounts

Bank conditions apply

Eligible Bank of America deposit account

Standard check-order fees may be waived

Eligible deposit account; standard check orders only.

Who it may cover: The bank says eligibility may vary by account and applies to standard check orders. Ask the bank to confirm your account.

Accounts and conditions
Checking, savings, or other deposit accounts

Bank conditions apply

Eligible Bank of America deposit account

Standard check order only.

Contact options

4 contact options

Open bank guide

6 contact options

Open bank guide

Capital One / Discover

Capital One, National Association · FDIC-insured bank

Open bank guide

Lower rate from the provider

4% on eligible Capital One or Discover cards, personal loans, and auto loans

Capital One must own and service the eligible loan. The 4% claim is limited here to the cards, personal loans, and auto loans named by Capital One.

Who it may cover: The loan must qualify for Capital One's program. Capital One must own the loan and manage the account. Ask whether your account type is covered.

Accounts and conditions
Credit Card

Bank conditions apply

Eligible Capital One or Discover account that Capital One owns and manages

Program and military-service timing rules apply.

Named by the bank.

Personal Loan

Bank conditions apply

Eligible loan that Capital One owns and manages

Program and military-service timing rules apply.

Named by the bank.

Auto Loan

Bank conditions apply

Eligible loan that Capital One owns and manages

Program and military-service timing rules apply.

Named by the bank.

How long the extra may last

Approved benefits last one year after active duty

Approved accounts only. Benefits date back to qualifying service and last until one year after active duty; requests after that year are generally declined.

Who it may cover: Only approved eligible accounts; the bank says requests are generally declined if active duty ended more than one year before the request.

Accounts and conditions
Unknown

Bank conditions apply

Approved eligible Capital One or Discover account

Retroactive to qualifying service start or qualifying-orders date; remains until one year after active duty ends.

Account-type timing may vary.

Other benefits

See 1 more program
No account fees except certain insurance charges

Eligible SCRA Program accounts only; certain insurance charges still apply.

Who it may cover: The account must qualify for Capital One's SCRA Program. Certain insurance charges are not waived.

Accounts and conditions
Unknown

Bank conditions apply

Eligible Capital One SCRA Program account

Program and military-service timing rules apply.

Apply only after account-specific eligibility is confirmed.

Contact options

4 contact options

Open bank guide

Bank of America

Bank of America, National Association · FDIC-insured bank

Open bank guide

Lower rate from the provider

4% cap on eligible Bank of America home loans

The home loan must be owned and managed by Bank of America. Investor-owned loans may still get the federal 6% cap, but not necessarily 4%.

Who it may cover: Home loan must be both owned and managed by Bank of America and customer must qualify for military benefits.

Accounts and conditions
Mortgage

Bank conditions apply

Both owned and managed by Bank of America

Military-benefit and timing requirements apply.

Investor-owned loans may still qualify for the federal 6% cap but not necessarily the 4% program.

How long the extra may last

Card and installment benefits may continue six months after service

Eligible cards and installment loans. The six-month extension generally covers both; continued reduced interest is stated only for cards.

Who it may cover: Bank of America says this generally applies. Eligibility depends on the product and account.

Accounts and conditions
Credit Card

Bank conditions apply

Eligible Bank of America account

Generally six months after active duty ends.

Continued reduced interest is expressly described.

Personal Loan

Bank conditions apply

Eligible Bank of America installment loan

Generally six months after active duty ends.

Other benefits

See 6 more programs
Select credit-card fees waived for life

Eligible customers and select card fees only; Bank of America does not publish the full fee list.

Who it may cover: Only certain fees and eligible customers qualify. The bank does not list every covered fee.

After military service; the bank says for life.

Accounts and conditions
Credit Card

Bank conditions apply

Eligible Bank of America credit card

After military service; the bank says for life.

Select fees only.

Debit-card replacement fees may be waived

Eligible deposit account; ask Bank of America to confirm your account.

Who it may cover: The bank says eligibility may vary by account. Ask the bank to confirm your account.

Accounts and conditions
Checking, savings, or other deposit accounts

Bank conditions apply

Eligible Bank of America deposit account

ATM fees may be waived on eligible deposit accounts

Eligible deposit account; third-party ATM-owner fees are not stated as covered.

Who it may cover: The bank says eligibility may vary. It does not say fees charged by other ATM owners are reimbursed.

Accounts and conditions
Checking, savings, or other deposit accounts

Bank conditions apply

Eligible Bank of America deposit account

The bank does not say whether fees charged by other ATM owners are covered.

Monthly checking and savings fees may be waived

Eligible checking or savings account; ask Bank of America to confirm your account.

Who it may cover: The bank says eligibility may vary by account. Ask the bank to confirm your account.

Accounts and conditions
Checking, savings, or other deposit accounts

Bank conditions apply

Eligible Bank of America checking or savings account

Wire fees may be waived on eligible deposit accounts

Eligible deposit account and wire; ask Bank of America to confirm both.

Who it may cover: The bank says eligibility may vary by account and transaction. Ask the bank to confirm both.

Accounts and conditions
Checking, savings, or other deposit accounts

Bank conditions apply

Eligible Bank of America deposit account

Standard check-order fees may be waived

Eligible deposit account; standard check orders only.

Who it may cover: The bank says eligibility may vary by account and applies to standard check orders. Ask the bank to confirm your account.

Accounts and conditions
Checking, savings, or other deposit accounts

Bank conditions apply

Eligible Bank of America deposit account

Standard check order only.

Contact options

6 contact options

Open bank guide

Check the linked terms before making a request; the provider decides eligibility.