InstitutionsFirst Citizens

First-Citizens Bank & Trust Company

First Citizens

Quick answer

First Citizens SCRA overview

First Citizens lists federal interest and repossession treatment for qualifying loans or credit, late-fee treatment for cards and qualifying loans, military checking and savings terms, and a conditional $500 mortgage credit.

Federal protections are separate from any additional benefit offered by a bank.

Benefit-rich guide

First Citizens publishes separate SCRA, checking, savings, and mortgage terms.

Each section below is traced only to the policies, routes, and official sources that support that product or process.

01

SCRA cards and qualified loans

Interest, late-fee, and repossession terms are product-scoped

First Citizens lists card and qualified-loan late-fee treatment, a generic 6% cap for qualifying pre-service loans or credit, and a qualifying-loan repossession pause. It does not publish a complete loan matrix.
02

Checking

Liberty Advantage and Liberty Classic

Each checking account has its own military eligibility, direct-deposit, fee, and ATM terms.
03

Savings

First Citizens Military Savings

The savings account has its own opening-deposit, balance, fee, and transaction terms.
04

Mortgage

$500 Liberty Advantage closing-cost credit

The published credit is limited to an eligible primary-home purchase or refinance and keeps the bank’s stated exclusions.

Federal SCRA rule

Start with when the debt began.

Federal SCRA interest relief generally concerns qualifying debt from before military service. A bank's extra benefit can be broader or more generous, but it does not replace the federal eligibility test.

Open all federal scra protections

Extra from First Citizens

5 bank extras.

Quick read. Eligibility still depends on the exact account.

  1. No late fees on cards and qualifying loans

    Qualifying cards and loans during the qualifying service period approved for benefits. Covered late fees are refunded when benefits are backdated; the bank does not list every qualifying loan type.

  2. Liberty Advantage: no $20 fee + five free non-First Citizens ATM transactions

    Officers and full-time NCOs with one monthly direct deposit. No opening minimum; ATM-owner fees may apply.

  3. Liberty Classic: no $15 fee + two free non-First Citizens ATM transactions

    Active duty or full-time Reserve or Guard with one monthly direct deposit. No opening minimum; preferred CD rates and check-order discounts are advertised. ATM-owner fees may apply.

  4. $500 toward an eligible primary-home mortgage

    Liberty Advantage required. Primary-home purchase or refinance only; Money Saver and construction loans are excluded.

  5. No $5 savings fee with a $300 daily balance

    $100 to open. Active duty or full-time reservists; the first two withdrawals or transfers are free, then $3 each under the published terms.

Contact First Citizens

Choose the option that matches what you need.

Each option says exactly what the bank confirms it can do.

Branch

First Citizens branch

Ask questions or start an SCRA request. Confirm a document-capable destination before sending records.

Use for
Credit cards and qualifying loans; exact loan types are not listed
Starts a request; document intake not statedView on bank website

Phone

888-323-4732

Call to ask questions or start an SCRA request. Hours: 8 a.m.-9 p.m. ET Monday-Friday and 8 a.m.-8 p.m. ET Saturday-Sunday.

Use for
Credit cards and qualifying loans; exact loan types are not listed
Starts a request; document intake not statedView on bank website
View the bank's SCRA information

Continue browsing

Browse the previous or next bank guide, or return to the complete directory.

Ready to estimate one account?

Estimate what may apply. Prepare what the bank needs.

Estimate